‘Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race’ by Reni Eddo-Lodge

Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge is a book that could not have emerged at a more perfect time. It is not often non-fiction that isn’t biography or somehow world war II manages to make its way to the front windows of bookshops but while Eddo-Lodge’s book specifically tells us she’s no longer talking to white people about race, it seems now that that’s all white people want to talk about. This is an important book for an important time, and Eddo-Lodge absolutely nails it.

The first two things that struck me when I started this book were: it’s British and it’s easy to read. That might seem strange but it’s important to note. The first chapter of the book discusses specifically the history of POC in the United Kingdom. While this may seem like a strange thing to point out, it is worth noting that I (and I have a feeling many others) presumed that a book about racism would come from the American perspective, and I’m Irish. This is particularly important as Eddo-Lodge points out in the context of racism because often focusing on the American narrative allows non-Americans to wipe our hands of racism, somehow deciding it’s an American issue. The first chapter of the book contextualises racism in the UK by telling the story of racism and anti-racism in the UK and through this brings a history that has been often erased to a new reader. I must admit my ignorance on the subject going in to this book but reading this inspired me to read more on the subject, find the histories that were being ignored, and in doing so begin to understand racism today.

The second pleasant surprise was more straightforward, the book is easy to read. Again it might seem small but so many non-fiction books end up in the category of ‘sure it’s important and all but God I’d never get through it’. Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race is a enjoyable read. It’s devastating, it’s angry, it’s joyful, it’s hopeful, and it’s not difficult. Eddo-Lodge writes clearly and personably. As a reader the words jump at you from the page and personally I couldn’t get myself to leave the book down. I was utterly sucked in. So don’t be afraid of this book. It will challenge you but you’ll understand it every step of the way.

This is a book worth reading. Listen. Understand.